Skip to content

Moab, Utah

June 11, 2010
by

It’s Day 370 of our (more than a) Year Trip.  The high has been hovering around 100 since Monday, but today, it’s overcast and drizzly and around 75 degrees.

On Sunday, Troy’s father and nephews, Jerry, Colton, and Austin arrived from Nashville.  Troy has ridden several mountain bike trails with them.  The kids and I hiked along while they rode the Amasa Back trail, so I was able to get some pictures.  It was over 100 that day.  We went straight to Maverik’s afterward for a hotdog and cold drink.  Maverik’s is just a curb store, but it’s a tradition for us.  We save our cups, so we get a deal on the refills.  Jerry is also fond of the soft-serve frozen yogurt.

Yesterday, we drove to Goblin Valley and hiked a loop trail through Lil’ Wildhorse and Bell Canyons.  We had so much fun climbing around and playing in these slot canyons. 

Wishing the rest of the Link family could be here…

A little Edward Abbey from Desert Solitaire:  

This is the most beautiful place on earth. 

There are many such places.  Every man, every woman, carries in heart and mind the image of the ideal place, the right place, the one true home known or unknown, actual or visionary. …

For myself I’ll take Moab, Utah.  I don’t mean the town itself, of course, but the country which surrounds it-the canyonlands.  The slickrock desert.  The red dust and the burnt cliffs and the lonely sky-all that which lies beyond the end of the roads.

Pictures of our drive to Moab and our campsite, and of climbing, biking, and hiking with Jerry, Colton, and Austin

5 Comments leave one →
  1. GRANDMOTHER permalink
    June 15, 2010 9:39 am

    Glad you are having a great time. I wish we were still there. Your dad and I are going to the beach, Seaside, this weekend for our 42nd anniversary. Then, next weekend we are meeting Danny and Beverly in Athens. Thomas and Gret are really getting to be climbers, I can hardly believe the pictures. Mother

  2. Tressa Gibbs permalink
    June 24, 2010 5:50 am

    Hey Katie,
    I just looked at your blog for the first time and am amazed by your trip…looks incredible! I’m so glad you’ve got to be with the Ballards this week, I know Christi has loved having you there! Bobby and I are doing a “mini” trip this summer for about a month, so I love seeing all the things you’ve done and how it works with kids! Your trip seems like an experience of a lifetime…soak it up!
    Tressa

Leave a comment